The “Day” Is Here, Hopefully.

13 Oct

My schedule was ambitious, perhaps too much so. According to my schedule, I am supposed to have the draft of my newest book, “A Walk on a Day Like Thursday” submitted by Friday. A children’s picture book, the rhyming prose was written long ago, but the illustrations still have a long way to go. With 6 more paintings, plus the cover and all the layout and final edits still left to do, I’m wondering how it’s all going to work out.

But I’m not going to let the wondering stop me.

The Devil is Doubt was the title of my first book (unpublished) but as relevant a sentence as any I can think of to describe so many situations in life when we feel doubt, including this one.

Doubt makes our mind spin in circles and throws us for a loop. Many things cause doubt but no matter what the cause, the end result is always the same. We end up feeling lousy.

To play devil’s advocate, lets propose, ” doubt is just our animal instinct to protect ourselves.”

I agree. But when it’s protective doubt I feel relieved, satisfied and joyful afterward. When it’s just worrisome doubt, I do not. I use that gage anytime doubts and fears arise up inside of me.

The time-crunch is actually very much in line with the theme of the new book. A Walk on a Day Like Thursday is about finding enjoyment in the little things, even on those days when it seems like everything is going wrong. It’s about pushing through and appreciating the journey. The creation of A Walk on a Day Like Thursday is just like that: a road paved with obstacles, challenges and small, beautiful moments.

So, hopefully my new book A Walk on a Day Like Thursday will be done this week and get out to all of you by early next month

Leave a Reply

