Natural Easter Egg Dye Results

10 Apr

As this was my first year attempting the natural Easter egg dyes, I decided to let you all know how they turned out.

The first step was to prepare the dyes and boil the eggs. I was so excited about trying out the natural Easter egg food coloring dyes that I forgot to boil the eggs so this step took twice as long as it needed to be, but alas, it all got done in the end.

From left to right: blackberries, paprika, dill weed seed and turmeric. I also used purple cabbage to make blue, which is not pictured here.

The general recipe is 1 cup boiling water, 2 TBSP spice and 2 tsp white vinegar.

As you can see, the dyes look very bright in the cups. I’m lazy so I didn’t actually measure anything and didn’t strain the dyes after letting them soak for a bit.

Next we colored on the cooled eggs with crayon. I made the mistake of  telling Adam about the dyes coming up next, so he rushed through the coloring part so that he could get down to the real fun part; the dye.

The cool thing about artificial Easter egg dye is that you can just touch the egg to the dye and it will immediately saturate it with bright colors. This is not the case with dyes. The eggs really need to sit in the dye for quite a while (except with the turmeric which really gets the egg a nice yellow fairly quickly).

Adam likes to take the eggs in and out over and over so they all got to sit in there for about 20 minutes in between his eager scooping.

The one thing I noticed with the blackberries is how quickly the berries dyed my fingers when I plopped them into the water. The red color did wash off easily, but next year I might try dabbing the newly colored eggs with the solid blackberries to see if I can’t get a couple of bright spots on a few.

The Results

As you can see, the natural Easter egg dyes resulted in a set of pastel colored eggs.

Many sites suggest leaving the eggs in the natural dyes overnight for deeper, richer colors, but Adam wanted to see how they turned out right away.

He was pleased with them, and I was too, especially when I saw him slobber over the entire surface of the egg before it was peeled.

We immediately took turns playing the Easter bunny, hiding the eggs and finding them. I peeled off three-quarters of the shell and we ate them for snack afterwards, using the remaining section as a holder until we had eaten down that far.

A little sad that I had to dump out all the beautiful dyes I had made, I took out some coffee filters and let him soak those in the natural Easter egg dyes as well. They dried very quickly and I smooshed them together with a pipe cleaner in the center and taped them to a bamboo pole.

Adam loved this impromptu flower and immediately went out to plant it in the ground.

Overall, our experiments with natural Easter egg dyes were pretty fun. Because I happened to have all the ingredients on hand already, I couldn’t resist. We had fun doing it and I felt good about the results. You can’t get much more Zen then that.

 

 

Leave a Reply

